Day 21: Sh*t sandwich 🥪

What compromises are you willing to accept?

Morning!

I have to say I’m incredibly lucky.

As an American residing in Cape Town, South Africa, I have the privilege of living in the most beautiful city in the world (IMO), all while enjoying a significantly more affordable cost of living compared to my previous residence in California.

Heck, the latte and croissant I’m enjoying right now cost me a whopping $2. When I was last in San Diego, a cappuccino at Starbucks cost me $7.

But there are downsides to living here. 

And it’s what Mark Manson calls the “sh*t sandwich.”

That is, nothing is incredible all of the time. Everything involves some sort of sacrifice, it’s just a matter of knowing what unpleasant experiences you’re able to handle.

For me, the downsides of being occasionally homesick and not being able to drive my car are worth living in this colorful city with my partner.

In other words, I don’t mind eating the sh*t sandwich.

Now onto you:

Journal Prompt

What sh*t sandwich are you willing to eat? In other words, what compromises are you willing to accept in order to pursue your passions? Where do you set your boundaries?

Happy journaling,

Kelsey

Was this email forwarded to you? Welcome! You can subscribe here to get tomorrow’s prompt.

Miss a day? No sweat. You can catch up by finding the previous prompts here.