Day 30: Create a mantra 🌱

Create a personal mantra you can revisit time and time again.

Hola!

If people-pleasing were a sport, I’d have a gold medal. 

Gold Medal Thank You GIF by Team USA

It consumed most of my adult life, turning social situations into managing others' emotions while neglecting my own. Years passed until a therapist helped me realize that carrying on in this way wasn’t loving to myself.

With her help, we created a mantra that I could say to myself whenever I teetered on the edge of people-pleasing.

The mantra was this: “I’m here to have my own experience.”

This simple reminder has helped me dozens of times in catching myself mid-act and preventing the sabotage of my internal peace for the sake of making others feel comfortable.

Now let’s create yours.

Journal Prompt

Identify an area of personal growth you're focusing on, such as cultivating more patience, setting boundaries against people-pleasing tendencies, or embracing a more open-minded perspective. Craft a concise, one-sentence mantra that resonates with you, which you can recite to yourself whenever you notice yourself slipping into old patterns of behavior that no longer serve you.

Happy journaling,

Kelsey

Was this email forwarded to you? Welcome! You can subscribe here to get tomorrow’s prompt.

Miss a day? No sweat. You can catch up by finding the previous prompts here.