Day 86: Held by nature 🌳

Imagine a sacred place in nature that has healed you; journal freely or create a short poem about it.

Hey, my fellow Poet.

Yes, Poet.

And yes, we’re going there.

jimmy fallon good job GIF by The Tonight Show Starring Jimmy Fallon

To help create our first poetry-related prompt, I turned to my good friend and poet, Danielle

Danielle, over to you!

—

Often times my most healing moments have come from spending time in nature. 

My most creative thoughts emerge as the flowers bloom around me and the breeze sweeps across my cherry cheeks. The poetry escapes my heart and releases with the wind. It’s as if Mother Nature presents herself externally and then moves through my bones, and then makes her way back into the world by landing on the pages of my notebook. 

For today’s prompt, if you have the privilege to do so, I encourage you to get into nature and write. If that is not possible, simply use your imagination. Start to envision nature’s elements, and create metaphors to pair with sensations. 

Example:

The winds they held me, wrapping their tender breeze around my waist. 

The smell of salt water near, close enough to taste. 

As the ocean opened her arms, she offered me a warm embrace.

I encourage you to emphasize with alliteration as you describe nature’s elements healing you.

Example:

The moon she monitored the state of my mind, 

Only exposing her edges when she knew it was her who I needed to see. 

Beaming with beauty, she held me that night, 

Knowing her craters would cradle me back to sleep.

Inspiration is all around us, swirling in the seas and trees. If you open your mind and your heart, you will realize it is asking to be seen!

Journal Prompt

Imagine a scene in nature that you feel connected to or a specific place that feels sacred to you. How has this space held you in love? How has it carried you through a tough time? How has nature healed you?

Option to journal freely or create a short poem, similar to the examples above.

Want to read more of Danielle’s poetry? Check out her Instagram, @dictationbydanielle_

Happy journaling,

Kelsey

P.S. Want to submit a prompt? Reply directly to this email!

Did you like today's prompt?

Login or Subscribe to participate in polls.

Was this email forwarded to you? Welcome! You can subscribe here to get tomorrow’s prompt.

Miss a day? No sweat. You can catch up by finding the previous prompts here.